Back to site



DA CHOZEN "UP ALL NIGHT" EP with Bonus Tracks
Limited White Chrome Plus Cassette

SHIPPING NOW - October 14, 2014

Label: 16F Music
Catalog#: 16F CS-02
Configuration: Limited White Chrome Plus Cassette
Price: $12.99

Track Listing (same on both sides)
1 Stikumm 4:19
2 The Funk Is On 4:33
3 It Gets Better 4:09
4 Say What 4:33
5 It Gets Better (Remix) 4:25
6 Many Styles 3:26

7 Who’s Boss 4:19
8 It’s Like That 3:23
9 Skip to my loop 3:18
10 It Gets Better (Original Version)

Bonus Tracks: Added to the EP are some of the earliest recordings from 1989 to 1993. “Who’s The Boss”, “It’s Like That” (from the forth-coming Rhythm Shack All-Stars EP) & “Skip To The Loop” Recorded & Produced by Tkae of the group Mental Castawayz “It Gets Better ” original Produced by Calvin “Trouble” Jones. All tracks have been remastered by Calvin “Trouble” Jones from the original tapes.

Hailing from Paterson “Silk City” NJ comes a rap group which can be considered true school in its purest form. Da Chozen, which consist of Eshawn, T-Smooth, Big Bunk, B-Hop, Shortcutt (R.I.P), and Dj Tab DiBiassi all born and raised in Silk City grew up during the golden era of Hip hop. They were students of the culture, which shows in their musical selections. Their songs, which are heavily sample driven, consist of a mixture of jazz, blues, rock, soul, and funk. When tragedy struck the group in 1993 with the sudden passing of group member Shortcutt, the group took a major dive. The group members were all childhood friends and with Shortcutt being considered the heart of the group his untimely passing sent them into a depressed state and had them contemplating not continuing making music. However knowing that Shortcutt would have not wanted any thing to stop their progress the group continued to do what they loved most.

Up All Night is an EP that was made to get people doing what Hip Hop was meant to get them doing “Dance”! The songs are soulful and very bass driven which was the trend at the time of their production. The Ep uses some recognizable samples as well as those, which are not so recognizable, which would give any good beat digger a run for his money. Group member Eshawn who also co produced the EP, with DJ M.A.